Sunday, 28 June 2015

World Pool Masters Draw Announcement: Shaw and Morra Recieve Invite

Photo courtesy of Mario Paradis
By: Markus Noé

With just less than two months away from this years edition of the World Pool Masters, Matchroom Sports has announced the draw and schedule. Each year 16 players from around the globe are selected to compete for this coveted title.

This is a favourite among players not only for its guaranteed pay-outs for each player but for the exposure it brings to them. Matchroom Sports is really alone in terms of marketing in the pool world, as this event will be broadcasted live throughout England and around the world on Sky Sports.

Photo courtesy of Mario Paradis
Canadian John Morra will be representing Canada at this event for the first time since they made it invite only. Last time Morra played in 2010 it was a 64 player event which he lost to the eventual winner Dennis Orcuollo. He will be in tough in his first match of this single elimination format as he plays defending champion, American Shane Van Boening.

Scotland native Jayson Shaw has also been rewarded and invite to this event. His fast pace and shooting from the hip style has endeared him to fans in the U.S.A where he has chosen to make his home. As the defending champion of the previous two Turning Stone Classic's and countless other regional tour wins he will be a force to reckon with this year.

Photo courtesy of Mario Paradis

Shaw will play a favourite player among the profressionals Waleed Majid, who is the best player in the Middle East. Over the past year this newcomer to the international scene who some have dubbed the "most improved"  has had impressive finishes in both the World 9 Ball Championships and U.S Open. Majid is currently ranked 19th in world.

The World Pool Masters will be played August 14-16th at the Victoria Warehouse in Manchester, England just before the next Turning Stone Classic. As usual it promises to be a great event. Below is a list of the complete first round draw.

The Draw:

(1) Shane Van Boening (USA) v John Morra (CAN)

(8) Waleed Majid (QAT) v Jayson Shaw (SCO)

(5) Liu Haitao (CHN) Karl Boyes (ENG)

(4) Niels Feijen (HOL) v South America No.1
(3) Darren Appleton (ENG) v Mateusz Sniegocki (POL)

(6) Johann Chua (Philippines) v James Georgiadis (AUS)

(7) Nikos Ekonomopoulos (GRE) v Ralf Souquet (GER)

(2) Ko Pin Yi (TPE) v Daryl Peach or Mark Gray (England)

No comments:

Post a Comment